Gov. Sisolak appoints nine to workforce development committee

Gov. Sisolak appoints nine to workforce development committee
Photo by Remy Gieling on Unsplash

CARSON CITY–Nevada’s ongoing focus on workforce development programs—which may transform the state’s community colleges—intensified this week with the appointment of nine members to the newly formed Community College Workforce Training and Programs Committee.

Gov. Steve Sisolak announced the appointments Tuesday to officially launch the committee, which was formed through approval of Assembly Bill 450 during the 2021 legislative session.

A number of workforce development initiatives have been implemented in the state over the past several years, with a number launching in 2021 to address economic impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. Those programs include advanced manufacturing and healthcare, both identified as key to the state’s economic diversity and quality of life.

“Now more than ever, we must harness the educational opportunities institutions of higher education provide to help prepare Nevadans for the jobs of the future,” said Gov. Sisolak.

Members of the committee include a mix of business and education professionals from across the state. Their goal is to study how the state’s community college programs can align their workforce training programs with current workforce demands.

Sisolak first alluded to the need for reforms to the state’s community college offerings in his State of the State address in January 2021. In that speech, he advocated for transitioning community colleges away from control by Nevada System of Higher Education.

NSHE Chancellor Melody Rose is a member of the study committee.

The remaining members include:

  • Stacey Bostwick, director of workforce development at Governor’s Office of Economic Development
  • Kurt Thigpen, CEO of Ace Studios and former Washoe County School District trustee
  • Myisha Boyce, president and managing member at MYS LLC
  • Ryan Woodward, CFO at National Technical Institute
  • Chris Trolson, assistant director of training at Southern Nevada Operating Engineers JATC
  • Jhone Ebert, superintendent of public instruction for the Nevada Department of Education
  • Federico Zaragoza, president at College of Southern Nevada
  • Derrick Hill, division vice president sales, and market operations at Cox Communications