Students selected for U.S. youth program

Students selected for U.S. youth program

CARSON CITY — Two Nevada students have been selected to join Senator Catherine Cortez Masto and Senator Jacky Rosen in Washington, D.C. at the 58th Annual U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP) Washington Week, taking place March 7-14, 2020.

Akaash Krishnan, a senior at Davidson Academy in Reno, and Jared Stone, a senior at Meadows High School in Las Vegas, were recognized by State Superintendent Jhone M. Ebert and the Members of the State Board of Education today for being chosen from among Nevada’s extraordinary student leaders to participate in the USSYP. Akaash and Jared will also each receive a $10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate study.

“I would like to thank Akaash and Jared for their commitment to their schools and communities and congratulate them on the honor of being Nevada’s USSYP delegates,” said Jhone Ebert, Superintendent of Public Instruction. “I am proud that our students are being recognized on the national stage for their hard work and know they will benefit from this one-of-a-kind experiential learning opportunity.”

The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the impetus for the program as stated in Senate testimony is “to increase young Americans’ understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, learn the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and emphasize the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world.”

Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings the most outstanding high school students – two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity – to Washington, D.C. for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it. The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, The Hearst Foundations provide each student with a $10,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are also provided by The Hearst Foundations.

Akaash Krishnan, a senior at Davidson Academy, serves as the vice president of leadership for Nevada DECA, an organization that empowers emerging leaders in business, finance, hospitality and marketing. He is the president of his school’s Speech and Debate team and the founder and executive director of the Nevada Youth Climate Strike. Inspired by his experience as a Bank of America student leader, Akaash began work with the nonprofit DREAM EQUAL as a curriculum development associate to help address gender inequality in public education. If he’s not reading Politico or discussing gender studies, you can find him rock climbing.

Jared Stone, a senior at Meadows High School, serves as an officer in the Nevada National Latin Honor Society. He is an Eagle Scout, a National Merit Semifinalist, and a member of MENSA. Jared leads the Varsity Quiz club and revamped the Meadows Young Conservatives into a nonpartisan and inclusive discussion-based club. He received the Best Position Paper award at a regional Model UN conference, and multiple state and national awards for excellence in Latin. Jared founded and directs the Aequora Latin Immersion Program, a first-in-the-state after-school program where he teaches Latin to fourth graders from diverse backgrounds.

Alexander Wong, who attends West Career and Technical Academy in the Clark County School District, and Peyton Barsel, who attends Meadows High School in Las Vegas, were chosen as alternates to the 2020 program.

Delegates and alternates are selected by the state departments of education nationwide and the District of Columbia and Department of Defense Education Activity, after nomination by teachers and principals. The chief state school officer for each jurisdiction confirms the final selection.

For more information, visit: